Genny and Karaoke

In my book, Genevieve Grace, Genny goes to a local club on karaoke night with Brad.  She remembers from an earlier conversation with her next door neighbor, who just so happens to be a murder mystery writer, that it was his birthday.  She has the patrons sing “Happy Birthday” along with her.

Genny returns to the same club with Jarrod, the detective investigating the murders taking place at Carolina Bay in the sequel, The Seaside Slayer.  She shares a past with him in the first book, but he was undercover and using an alias.  She is surprised when he shows up at her door with a badge.

My family used to have a reunion every year.  My cousin, Stubby, is a DJ and would bring his equipment for us to karaoke.  Most of my family members have excellent voices.  My most memorable performance about five or six years ago was Michael Jackson’s “Thriller.”  My son provided the moonwalking.  My cousin, Joe, supposedly captured the performance on his phone and put it on You Tube.  Other family members say the footage exists, but I’ve never personally seen it.  My cousin, Ron, begged me to sing “Thriller” again the next year, but I’d already practiced Heart’s “Alone.”

Genevieve Grace is on sale for one more day for 99 CENTS!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CEWI65W

karaoke-duet

Leave a Reply

