MTW Review-Gemini by Ronnie Allen

ronnie-allen1

Ronnie Allen’s book, Gemini:  The Sign Behind The Crime Book 1, seemed the perfect choice for me to review, because I recently completed a sequel in my own Killer Attraction Series about the same subject—a serial killer.  After avoiding several books last year that I wanted to read for fear they might influence my writing, I finally had the opportunity to select a Mystery Thriller Week submission with the storyline I’d been avoiding for so long.

I came up with my own way of rating the books I’ll be reviewing.  For each “yes” answer to my questions, the book receives a gold star, with a total of five possible.

star Was the book well-written?  Yes.  Ronnie Allen used her expertise in psychology with the characters of Dr. John Trenton, a forensic psychiatrist, and Dr. Barbara Montgomery, a school psychologist, to weave an intriguing tale where their lives become intertwined.  Both the protagonist and antagonist were also psychic, which added another element to draw me in.   I was impressed with Ronnie’s knowledge about law enforcement, since I have several good friends in the field and harass them constantly about procedures in my own writing. 

star Did the book keep you interested from beginning to end?  Yes.  I couldn’t wait to get back to story.  I even stayed up later than usual each night to get a few extra chapters read.  Near the end, I was more than willing to lose sleep and finish, but dozed off around 2:00 a.m.  Almost as soon as I woke up, I had to know what happened.

star Were you emotionally invested in one or more of the characters?  Yes.  Dr. John Trenton’s wife, Vicky, left him in New York near the beginning of the book and moved back to Florida.  I don’t think I’m giving anything away with this revelation.   Their past love story played out as flashback chapters throughout the book.   I struggled right along with him, while he experienced the loneliness without her.  Ronnie made it very clear from chapter one that Barbara Montgomery was dangerous.  I couldn’t wait to see what she did next.  

star Would you read another book by the author based on your experience as a whole with this one?  Yes.  I can’t wait to read Aries:  The Sign Behind The Crime Book 2.   My astrological sign is Aries.  Based on what I know about the personality traits, this book should be fascinating.

 star Would you recommend this book to a friend?  Yes.  Even though a story about a serial killer isn’t for everyone, I definitely have a few friends who would appreciate this book.

And the review is 5 stars:  5-stars

Congratulations, Ronnie Allen!  You’ve earned an excellent review!  I hope others enjoy your gripping journey of a serial killer with moving accounts of how child abuse can adversely affect a life.

Oh, and by the way, I love your new red hair.

Sample the first four chapters of Gemini on Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/Gemini-Sign-Behind-Crime-Book-ebook/dp/B00Y3LARWS

Ronnie recently received news from her publisher that her book, Aries, was voted to be one of three submissions to Mystery Writers of America Nero Awards. http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-ronnie-allen

gemini

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

